IRA John Chorlton Manning Public School Service Award

This award, established in 2004, honors and carries on the work of Professor John Chorlton Manning. The award is intended to encourage and support the improvement of public education by recognizing the importance of integrating teacher preparation, professional development, and related research with the work of public schools, classrooms, teachers, and students.

The IRA John Chorlton Manning Public School Service Award is open to college- and university-based teacher educators with a record of effective preparation of reading teachers and graduate students. Professors of reading education who have demonstrated their commitment to public education and who spend significant time working with public school teachers and their students in classrooms demonstrating effective approaches and techniques shown to improve reading instruction are eligible.

This award is no longer available. For more information, please contact the Executive Office.

Award Recipients

—Not Given—
—Not Given—
Diane Lapp, EdD
Diane Barone
Denise Johnson
Karen A. Smith
D. Ray Reutzel
Judith A. Scott
JoBeth Allen
Join IRA Today!
Join IRA Today!

Home| About IRA| Contact Us| Help| Privacy & Security| Terms of Use

© 1996–2014 International Reading Association. All rights reserved.